Buckwheat is a fruit seed related to rhubarb and sorrel, and despite its name, it’s not related to wheat in any way. So, if you’re wondering ‘Is buckwheat gluten free?’, the answer is a definite yes! If you have a gluten intolerance or suffer from Celiac Disease, you can safely add buckwheat to your diet. Considered an ‘ancient grain’, buckwheat’s high nutritional profile remains unmanipulated, packing plenty of protein, complex carbohydrates, iron, zinc, selenium, magnesium, soluble fibre, and all essential amino acids. With its high nutritional profile, low Glycemic Index, and as a low FODMAP food, buckwheat flour is a great addition to a healthy gluten-free diet.
When ground, buckwheat flour makes a nutritious baking ingredient and substitute for wheat flour. In breads and cakes, it is generally used in combination with other gluten-free flours like besan or rice flour. Buckwheat pancakes are also very tasty and a favourite in my household.